REFRESHING MY HEART AND SOUL – My Baguio Trip

I worked in Baguio from 2007 until 2010 which made me earned circle of great fabulous friends. I left Baguio mainly because I need to scour better opportunities and started working in April 2010 in Manila. I’d say It was a great stay because other than having such a good experience in my career, the perfect bonus was priceless – my friends.

943877_1117050074973277_8807741741965077609_n
My view on my window whilst approaching Baguio City. Houses seemed on a bird’s eye view from afar.

The last time I went for my Baguio visit was in July 2010. Due to time constraints, I never had a chance to catch sight of them again until last November. Other than my thirst for a fresh and cold air, I need to see them too to meet and greet after half a decade of not seeing each other physically.

November 21, I left Manila at about 7:00 am and arrived in Baguio at about 2:00pm. It was quite warm outside when my friend Noah fetched me & went straight to Bonifacio St. at my grandma’s house. I never expected the warmth but not as the scorching heat here in Manila.

Photo taken along Bonifacio Road, Overview of Irisan, Aurora hill, Trancoville, etc.
Photo taken along Bonifacio Road, Overview of Irisan, Aurora hill, Trancoville, etc.
This was taken at Irisan, The road where our beloved Manny Pacquiao usually jogs before his fights.
This was taken at Irisan, The long curve road where our beloved Manny Pacquiao usually jogs before his fights.
Enjoying the relaxing view at the Burnham lake.
Enjoying the relaxing view at the Burnham lake.

Day one, after few hours of resting, Noah & I went to see our landlady in Loakan (where we resided for over 2years). Day two was well spent because we started the day walking along Session Road to feel the cool breezy air and went to seeing Ukay-ukay since I want to buy myself a pair of boots. Ukay-Ukay for those who doesn’t know it yet, Those are ready to wear goods which are slightly used which were imported from different parts of the world which was made familiar mainly in Baguio.

My solo shot at the Baguio Cathedral stairs going down the Session Road.
My solo shot at the Baguio Cathedral stairs going down the Session Road. Sorry for the bad photo quality. 😦

After lunch, we then went to Burnham park and experienced riding on the boats (150php/hour) & bikes (40.00php/hour). We’ve spent about 4 hours in the park then we went walking again in Session and dropped by Cathedral.

At the Burnham park crunching a bit of childhood memories on that bike.
At the Burnham park crunching a bit of childhood memories on that bike.

12494657_1117046524973632_7698501092196060097_n

The road was bit crowded since lots of Manileños came there due to the long weekend (As we have APEC summit ongoing here in Manila then). The third day, It was an ambush when we decided to see La presa. More of it on my next post. My three days stay was tiring but it was a fun filled experience. My friend Noah and Redz where the most I’ve counted on during my stay but I thank all my friends there who wanted to see me too but we failed. Lastly, hats off to those cab drivers who were very polite and giving me back my change up to the last cent. Baguio people really are awesome! May the dear LORD bless you more for your greatness. Next time around my dearest treasures! 🙂

 

 

Author: Jules Domingo

I love writing and photo shooting. I'm also a diary addict.

Leave a Reply

